It is about Inspiration or finding a screw: Paris.

by parasoles

reaumur

“Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life” -Pablo Picasso.

Today I was remembering Paris. I stayed there for a week, trying to live as a Parisian do.

I stayed in a little apartment at Rue Réaumur and I rent a bicycle to move around.

Paris is equal to  I-N-S-P-I-R-A-T-I-O-N.

The inspirational object, the Morelli’s screw (please read first chapter of  Cortázar’s novel Rayuela) can be anything. It can be Paris.

Since the first moment my feet touched the city, I felt completely overwhelmed. I understood in that moment why Paris has been the centre of inspiration for so many artists. It did not matter if you were going to Montmartre or Montparnasse. There were always stories about cafes and places where poems were written, songs were composed,  films were filmed or paintings started to being drawn..

If you have not been there, you should definitely go. But please, do not go as a tourist, be a Parisian for a while.

That is a view of Rue Reaumur… It appears in Rayuela, perhaps my favourite novel.  La Maga and Oliveira stopped in a Cafe in Rue Reaumur: “..era en un café de la rue Réaumur, llovía y empezábamos a desearnos”.

reaumur

Why Paris? Why Cortázar? Why Rayuela? .. Why not?

Since the first time I read Rayuela I discovered the notion of the oneiric, the dreamlike. That surreal perception which helped me to understand the world in a broader dimension.

Surrealists were there, in those streets of Paris. Cortázar set Rayuela there, in Paris. The city is not surreal itself, it is a symbol. And as a magical image, I wanted to contemplate with my own eyes.

